The Showmax guide to EUROs 2024: groups, fixtures and more

By Sameer Naik14 June 2024

The Showmax guide to EUROs 2024: groups, fixtures and more

Our Showmax UEFA EURO guide has you covered with all the information you need ahead of the spectacle, which kicks off in Munich, Germany tonight (14 June 2024).

Showmax Premier League subscribers can stream all 51 UEFA EURO games live on the platform, at no additional cost.

EURO coverage will include all build-ups, live matches, wraps, as well as a live magazine show to keep subscribers up to date with all the action from the football spectacular taking place in Germany.

EUROs 2024 live on Showmax Premier League

The UEFA EURO trophy

Introducing the Henri Delaunay Cup, the prize on offer for the 24 hopefuls at UEFA EURO 2024. One lucky captain will enjoy a career-defining moment when they hoist aloft the Henri Delaunay Cup at Olympiastadion Berlin.

Spain’s Iker Casillas had the pleasure of becoming the first skipper to lift the updated version of the trophy in June 2008, with the new silverware a fitting replacement for the prize that had been synonymous with the UEFA European Championship.

The second version of the trophy is based on the original designed by the Arthus-Bertrand company in 1960 and named after Henri Delaunay, former president of the French Football Federation (FFF) and UEFA’s first general secretary, from the body’s founding on 15 June 1954 to 9 November 1955. It is 18cm higher and two-kilogram heavier than the original, made of sterling silver, and has retained its historical name. The trophy was reincarnated to reflect the scale and size of Europe’s most prestigious international tournament.

UEFA EUROs live on Showmax Premier League
FARO, PORTUGAL – NOVEMBER 14: Pizzi of Portugal and SL Benfica congratulates Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal and Juventus during the UEFA Euro 2020 Qualifier match between Portugal and Lithuania at Estadio Algarve on November 14, 2019 in Faro, Portugal. (Photo by Gualter Fatia/Getty Images)

Venue guide

UEFA EURO 2024 will take place across 10 world-class stadiums in Germany, from the Olympiastadion Berlin to the Volksparkstadion in Hamburg.


Germany’s capital since reunification in 1990, Berlin is one of the country’s most exciting and diverse places to visit. Top tourist attractions in a city bursting with history and culture include the Brandenburg Gate and the 368m-tall TV tower, offering sweeping views from its observation deck.

Olympiastadion Berlin Stadium capacity: 70 000
Home team: Hertha Berlin
Notably hosted: 2006 FIFA World Cup final, 2015 UEFA Champions League final.


A city with a rich history, Cologne sits on the River Rhine and is home to more than one million inhabitants, as well as Germany’s most visited landmark: the Cathedral Church of Saint Peter, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Cologne Stadium capacity: 47 000
Home team: 1. FC Köln
Notably hosted: 2020 UEFA Europa League final


Considered the cultural heart of the Ruhr region, Dortmund was known predominantly for coal, steel and beer 50 years ago but has evolved into a major tech hub, with a lively cultural scene and rich sporting heritage on show at the German Football Museum.

BVB Stadion Dortmund Stadium capacity: 66 000
Home team: Borussia Dortmund
Notably hosted: 2001 UEFA Cup final


The capital of North Rhine-Westphalia, Düsseldorf has more than 600 000 inhabitants and more than 250 beer houses and restaurants in its Old Town, which has been dubbed ‘the longest bar in the world’.

Düsseldorf Arena Stadium capacity: 47 000
Home team: Fortuna Düsseldorf
Notably hosted: 1988 UEFA European Championship group games (former Rheinstadion)


A global hub for commerce and finance situated on the banks of the River Main, Frankfurt is Germany’s fifth largest city and its distinct skyline has earned it the nickname “Mainhattan”.

Frankfurt Arena Stadium capacity: 46 000
Home team: Eintracht Frankfurt
Notably hosted: 2002 UEFA Women’s Cup final, 2006 World Cup quarter-final


Gelsenkirchen is known for its coal mining and steelmaking history, but visitors nowadays find green space, theatres and boat cruises, as well as industrial heritage in the Ruhr region.

Arena AufSchalke Stadium capacity: 50 000
Home team: Schalke
Notably hosted: 2004 UEFA Champions League final, 2006 World Cup quarter-final


The third biggest European city that is not a national capital, Hamburg has a world-renowned harbour, a rich cultural history, impressive architecture and nightlife that makes it a “bucket list” city for many tourists.

Volksparkstadion Hamburg Stadium capacity: 50 000
Home team: Hamburger SV
Notably hosted: 2010 Europa League final, 2006 World Cup quarter-final


Once the home of Johann Sebastian Bach, Leipzig is steeped in culture and history, not least because it was the site of the peaceful demonstrations in 1989 that captured the mood as Germany moved toward reunification.

Leipzig Stadium capacity: 42 000
Home team: RB Leipzig
Notably hosted: 2006 World Cup round of 16 game


Home to around 1.6 million people, Munich is Germany’s third largest city and a destination brimming with history, art galleries, parks and beer gardens.

Munich Football Arena Stadium capacity: 67 000
Home team: Bayern München
Notably hosted: 2012 UEFA Champions League final, EURO 2020 quarter-final


Stuttgart is a major industrial city and home to two of the most famous car manufacturers in the world, Mercedes and Porsche, but visitors can also enjoy a rich winemaking and culinary scene, with Flädlesuppe (pancake soup) among the local specialities.

Stuttgart Arena Stadium capacity: 54 000
Home team: VfB Stuttgart
Notably hosted: 1988 European Cup final, EURO 1988 semi-final, 2006 World Cup third-place play-off.

UEFA EUROs 2024 live on Showmax Premier League
LISBON, PORTUGAL – JUNE 09: Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal poses for a portrait during the Portugal Portrait session ahead of the UEFA EURO 2024 Germany on June 09, 2024 in Lisbon, Portugal. (Photo by Aitor Alcalde – UEFA/UEFA via Getty Images)

UEFA EURO 2024 groups

Group A



Scotland Hungary

Group B





Group C





Group D





Group E





Group F


Czech Republic



UEFA EURO group stage fixtures

14 June

Group A: Germany vs Scotland

15 June

A: Hungary vs Switzerland

B: Spain vs Croatia

B: Italy vs Albania

16 June

D: Poland vs Netherlands

C: Slovenia vs Denmark

C: Serbia vs England

17 June

E: Romania vs Ukraine

E: Belgium vs Slovakia

D: Austria vs France

18 June

F: Turkey vs Georgia
F: Portugal vs Czech Republic

19 June

B: Croatia vs Albania

A: Germany vs Hungary

A: Scotland vs Switzerland

20 June

C: Slovenia vs Serbia

C: Denmark vs England

B: Spain vs Italy

21 June

E: Slovakia vs Ukraine

D: Poland vs Austria

D: Netherlands vs France

22 June

F: Georgia vs Czechia

F: Turkey vs Portugal

E: Belgium vs Romania

23 June

A: Switzerland vs Germany

A: Scotland vs Hungary

24 June

B: Croatia vs Italy

B: Albania vs Spain

25 June

D: Netherlands vs Austria

D: France vs Poland

C: England vs Slovenia

C: Denmark vs Serbia

26 June

E: Slovakia vs Romania

E: Ukraine vs Belgium

F: Czech Republic vs Turkey

F: Georgia vs Portugal

UEFA EURO Championship past winners

Nine countries have won the tournament: Germany and Spain with three titles, France and Italy with two titles while Portugal, Netherlands, Denmark, Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia and Greece have one title each. Spain is the only country to win consecutive titles, in 2008 and 2012.


2020: Italy

2016: Portugal

2012: Spain

2008: Spain

2004: Greece

2000: France

1996: Germany

1992: Denmark

1988: Netherlands

1984: France

1980: Germany

1976: Czechoslovakia

1972: Germany

1968: Italy

1964: Spain

1960: Soviet Union

All information has been provided by UEFA

Sign up for the Showmax Premier League mobile plan for R69 p/m at for all the Premier League action.